News

A Message From Ruth Ann Krayesky, LCCA President

Dear LCCA Members and Camp Owners,

As we are all acutely aware, last summer we experienced the worst algae/cyanobacteria bloom in Lake Carmi’s recorded history.  There is no need to revisit the details that we all witnessed and endured but suffice it to say that we cannot and must not allow the devastation that phosphorus loading has brought to bear on our lake continues.  Unfortunately, when we report sources of phosphorus-laden run-off to State officials, we are often told that the contributing practices are within the current agricultural laws and regulations.  We must work with the legislature as we seek to get these laws changed.

Your LCCA board, as well as many other folks, have been working tirelessly to bring immediate action and change to our lake and our watershed.  As recently as January 11th the LCCA sponsored a “Legislative Breakfast” at the State House cafeteria and partnered with Franklin Select board members, Department of Environmental Conservation and Department of Agriculture folks to discuss the situation and the need for swift legislative action.  Many productive conversations with House and Senate leaders took place and in the coming week's testimony will be taken at the State House. 

Many of you have asked or wondered how you can help.  Well, the time is now.  We believe we are making progress with our clean water goal. However, we need the voices of many to write or email legislators to advocate for action and provide a strong presence.  Please consider contacting at least half a dozen names on the list below.  They do not necessarily have to represent Franklin County. If you know someone personally, all the better.  Write your own letter or use the one that we have prepared below. We are recommending the following actions:

1. We seek that Lake Carmi be designated a “Lake in Crisis,” to make additional financial resources and state water quality experts available and dedicated to this important water quality initiative.

2. With this “Lake in Crisis” designation, all agricultural practices that could lead to additional phosphorous loading in the lake must be stopped immediately. Financial consideration must be given to farmers whose lands are impacted by these actions.

3.     All agricultural practices and nutrient management plans of the farms impacting Lake Carmi and currently receiving protection from oversight must be made open and transparent to the public.

4. All water quality improvement programs, including construction programs, private/public land initiatives, and public/private road enhancements must be open and transparent to the public.

5. One state agency, (preferably DEC) needs to be given the authority and responsibility for improving the water quality at Lake Carmi.

6. An in lake phosphorous management (aeration program) should be funded immediately, in preparation for an early summer installa­tion. This should be designed and scaled to signifi­cantly improve the water quality of Lake Carmi.

Thank you in advance for joining us in this critical effort to save our lake.

Ruth Ann Krayesky

LCCA President

 

Vermont Legislature as of 12-15-2017

NAME

DISTRICT

PARTY

EMAIL

Senator Tim Ashe

Chittenden District

Democrat/Progressive

tashe@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Claire Ayer

Addison District

Democrat

cayer@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Becca Balint

Windham District

Democrat

bbalint@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Philip Baruth

Chittenden District

Democrat/Progressive

pbaruth@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Joe Benning

Caledonia District

Republican

jbenning@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Carolyn Whitney Branagan

Franklin District

Republican

CBranagan@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Christopher Bray

Addison District

Democrat

cbray@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Francis K. Brooks

Washington District

Democrat

FBrooks@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Brian Campion

Bennington District

Democrat

bcampion@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Alison Clarkson

Windsor District

Democrat

AClarkson@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Brian Collamore

Rutland District

Republican

bcollamore@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Ann Cummings

Washington District

Democrat

acummings@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Dustin Degree

Franklin District

Republican

ddegree@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Peg Flory

Rutland District

Republican

pflory@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Debbie Ingram

Chittenden District

Democrat

DIngram@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Jane Kitchel

Caledonia District

Democrat

jkitchel@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Virginia "Ginny" Lyons

Chittenden District

Democrat

vlyons@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Mark A. MacDonald

Orange District

Democrat

mmacdonald@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Dick Mazza

Grand Isle District

Democrat

DMazza@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Dick McCormack

Windsor District

Democrat

rmccormack@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Alice W. Nitka

Windsor District

Democrat

anitka@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Christopher A. Pearson

Chittenden District

Progressive/Democrat

CPearson@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Anthony Pollina

Washington District

Progressive/Democrat

apollina@leg.state.vt.us

Senator John Rodgers

Essex-Orleans District

Democrat

jrodgers@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Dick Sears Jr.

Bennington District

Democrat

rsears@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Michael Sirotkin

Chittenden District

Democrat

msirotkin@leg.state.vt.us

Senator David Soucy

Rutland District

Republican

dsoucy@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Robert Starr

Essex-Orleans District

Democrat

rstarr@leg.state.vt.us

Senator Richard Westman

Lamoille District

Republican

rawestman@gmail.com

Senator Jeanette K. White

Windham District

Democrat

jwhite@leg.state.vt.us

 

Date____________

 

Dear___________________,

I am writing to you about the unacceptable current conditions at Lake Carmi.  Last summer, we experienced the worst cyanobacteria/algae bloom in Lake Carmi’s recorded history and possibly in the State.  From late July into November the ability to recreate (fish, swim, boat, ski/tube etc.) was taken from us.  We were not able to relax on our docks and enjoy what was once the beauty of our lake and its spectacular sunsets.  For a time, even most of the wildlife left the lake.  We wondered how to safely take our seasonal docks, boat lifts and boats out of the lake for the winter.  Most importantly, we worried about the health implications from exposure to toxic cyanobacteria, whether it be from coming in direct contact or through airborne toxic spores.  And the effect on our bodies and our health with exposure from years past and years to come…  Lastly, many of us have worked hard and made sacrifices to be able to enjoy all that lake living has to offer, only to have our dream and our investment crushed. 

The degradation of our lake is largely the result of years of excessive phosphorus loading into our lake.  In-lake treatment options are being considered to address the internal phosphorus from lake sediment but pollution from phosphorus and chemicals entering the lake from the fields within our watershed must also be eliminated/largely reduced if we are to have a healthy lake.

We are committed to the restoration and protection of Lake Carmi.  To that end, we need your help. Please support the following actions:

  1. We seek that Lake Carmi be designated a “Lake in Crisis,” to make additional financial resources and state water quality experts available and dedicated to this important water quality initiative.
  2. With this “Lake in Crisis” designation, all agricultural practices that could lead to additional phosphorous loading in the lake must be stopped immediately. Financial consideration must be given to farmers whose lands are impacted by these actions.
  3. All agricultural practices and nutrient management plans of the farms impacting Lake Carmi and currently receiving protection from oversight must be made open and transparent to the public.
  4. All water quality improvement programs, including construction programs, private/public land initiatives, and public/private road enhancements must be open and transparent to the public.
  5. One state agency, (preferably DEC) needs to be given the authority and responsibility for improving the water quality at Lake Carmi.
  6.  An in lake phosphorous management (aeration program) should be funded immediately, in preparation for an early summer installa­tion. This should be designed and scaled to signifi­cantly improve the water quality of Lake Carmi.

Thank you for your consideration and support.

Name______________________________________________________

Address: ___________________________________________________

Email/phone___________________________________________________

 

News & Events 1/27/2018

A Message From Ruth Ann Krayesky, LCCA President

A Message From Ruth Ann Krayesky, LCCA President

Read More Read ALL

Local News 7/25/2017

Housing shortage in Vermont

The Burlington area may land on the top lists for being a great place to live. But, finding a house to live in is getting tougher....

Read More

XML error: Undeclared entity error at line 44, column 29